Professor Susanne von Caemmerer has been awarded the Suzanne Cory Medal by the Australian Academy of Science

Outstanding contributions to science have been recognised by the Australian Academy of Science with 24 of Australia’s leading scientists receiving a 2021 honorific award (see more here).

We would like to congratulate Professor Susanne von Caemmerer, who has been awarded the 2021 Inaugural Suzanne Cory Medal. See a short video here, to meet Susanne and learn more about her research.

2020 ends for the C4 Rice Project with a successful online annual meeting

The C4 Rice Project annual meeting this year was held online, over many different time-zones. It was great to see everyone, and to welcome new members of the team. Although an in-person meeting would have been preferable, the meeting proved to be a productive one. This year has brought plenty of challenges; however, significant progress has been made on the project. This is thanks to an extremely talented, and dedicated, team of scientists.

Let’s hope 2021 brings continuing success… and fingers crossed we’ll have the opportunity to come together in Bangkok for an even better, and more sociable, meeting.

Congratulations to Jane Langdale who is admitted to the Australian Academy of Science

Professor Jane Langdale, of the University of Oxford, has been admitted as Corresponding Member of the Australian Academy of Science, in recognition of her outstanding contribution to science. Professor Langdale is one of two new Corresponding Members – the other being Nobel Laureate Professor Erwin Neher – to join just 33 Corresponding Members of the Academy.

Congratulations, Professor Jane Langdale FAA!

See more here.

Sad news

We are saddened to learn that Udo Gowik, who worked with us in Phases I and II of the project, passed away last weekend. He was a great collaborator and friend to many of us.

Phase IV starts today with a major funding boost

We are excited to start the next phase of this hugely challenging project. For this phase, as we focus our goals, we say goodbye and a huge thank you to partners from IRRI, University of Toronto, Heinrich Heine University and the Chinese Academy of Sciences Shanghai Institute of Plant Physiology – all of whom have made significant contributions to the project over many years. We welcome Alain Tissier from the Leibniz Institute of Biochemistry, who brings new expertise in genome engineering to the team.

Members of the C4 Rice Project and of the External Advisory Board are again named in the annual list of Highly Cited Researchers

Congratulations to Professor Mark Stitt, Dr John Lunn (both Max Planck Institute), Professor Dan Voytas (University of Minnesota) and Professor Dirk Inzé (Ghent University) who have been named in the Highly Cited Researchers list for 2019.  The list recognizes the world’s most influential researchers, demonstrated by the production of multiple highly-cited papers that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year in Web of Science.

John Sheehy

We have just heard that John Sheehy passed away on Friday. The C4 Rice project was his vision, and without his determination to battle the sceptics it would never have started. He managed us through the early stages and until recently he was engaged with progress both at project and individual levels. Hopefully we will deliver his ambitious goal.

The below photo was taken of John during a visit to Seattle in 2008 to talk to the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation about funding the C4 Rice Project.

John Sheehy